Visa Interview. Day 2

Hey guys, welcome to another blog. If you are reading this either you are redirected from my e-mail or my youtube video. I hope you will find this blog useful. I have tried to mention minute details which no other website will probably publish. You can also watch youtube videos I post regarding MS in the US topic. Watch them here on my Youtube Channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCQEkgUtOXa-1PSzg4fC_H8g

You can follow me on Instagram @parthvijayvergiya and follow me on my journey from India to the US http://instagram.com/parthvijayvergiya/

If you are already receiving mails then its good, but if you are not receiving regular updates through email for me then you can put in your email address through the link http://groups.google.com/forum/#!forum/parthvijayvergiya and I will add you to the list.

The Visa interview day.

Okay, even if I got into Purdue which is one of the top universities still I was a little scared about if I will get the visa or not. I reached the embassy at 10.50, not the best thing to do to come that early, but there was a lot of stuff going on my mind and it was better to go early than late.

By the way, if you are curious what I was wearing that day, here is the picture of that.

20170630_083142

And there are so many people, already there you can talk to students. A little chit chat is better to cool down the nervousness. I met this guy who was planning to MS in CS at TAMU. BTW if you are getting anything digital phones, Apple watch, Fitbit you will have to drop it outside. There is a counter, I am not sure if it is arranged by embassy or not. But you can keep your small stuff there. Remember they do not take any responsibility of bags and stuff. So mind that.

At 11.20, the guard there asked people with an appointment time of 11.30 to come and stand in a Q. DO NOT TAKE OUT ANY DOCUMENT OTHER THAN PASSPORT HERE. Remember nothing else. There will be two people sitting outside who will scan the barcode they stuck at OFC and confirm that you have an appointment. Then you head to the main gate. There they have security check like an airport. They will ask you to put coins wallet your docs in a basket. And then you will go through the scanner and one guy will check you with a handheld scanner. Then you will have to go inside and sit in rows. There are going to be 6 rows in which you will have to sit.

There are washroom, water and some paid snacks available. I would recommend going to the washroom because you really do not know how much time it might take after this. Then they will call you row by row and you will have to follow a yellow line. You walk and stand in Q’s again.

At this point, they will check your passport and then they will ask you to put either left/right hand on the scanner to confirm the identity. After this comes the 20 counters on which they are taking Visa interview. So you will be asked to stand in a line and one after the other people will call to stay in a line. And then one by one a person will ask you to go to counter which will be empty.

My counter was #15 and there was a guy on that counter. My heart was beating and the guy asked me to pass my passport. He scanned the passport and asked me to pass the i20 and then asked me 1 question

INTERVIEW THAT LASTED 40 SECS!

VO: why this university

My answer: Since Purdue has a thesis option and also I have more flexibility in choosing courses since 18 credits are for electives.

VO: I don’t understand

Me: Sir, actually the course is divided into 33 credits. 6 for thesis, 9 for compulsory courses and 18 for electives. So I can choose the electives from a list of courses.

VO: Ok your visa is approved, Here is your i-20

It takes a moment to gulp in such kind of information.But then I went towards the exit and just asked on the helpdesk that how will I know when should I collect my passport. They told me I will receive a mail on my registered mail address. And then I smiled. And then that’s it visa approved. 

Click here to find out what document I took for visa interview! 

I hope it helps, I am spending a lot of time writing these blogs and making Youtube videos so that I can cover up a lot of topics which MS aspirants have problems in. You can subscribe to my youtube channel for more video updates.

You can follow me on Instagram @parthvijayvergiya and follow me on my journey from India to the US http://instagram.com/parthvijayvergiya/

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

