How much should you score in TOEFL/IELTS?

Hey guys, welcome to another blog. If you are reading this either you are redirected from my e-mail or my youtube video. I hope you will find this blog useful. I have tried to put a single person perspective here. And if are you here from another post, you can watch that video right here. Go to the bottom of this post. I have linked the EXCEL file there with TOEFL/IELTS cutoffs.

You can follow me on Instagram @parthvijayvergiya and follow me on my journey from India to the US.  

If you are already receiving emails then its good, but if you are not receiving regular updates through email for me then you can put in your email address through the link https://goo.gl/forms/Hf49L9jQTJi5Cqqi2 and I will add you to the list.

I have taken TOEFL and not IELTS but I will mention some points which I have seen on University website which I was researching for TOEFL. I scored 106/120. I will post a screenshot of my test report to give a clear split of scores. Also, my photo is super bad, I look better than this usually.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 11.51.13 AM.png

I am writing this blog since I have seen people asking about TOEFL requirement and also that if their application will be affected by TOEFL scores. You have to understand the fact that TOEFL is an English proficiency test and it will not affect your admission chances to the university. I have seen cases where the university is so lenient that they mail the student and ask him/her to increase the TOEFL score since it is just a minimum requirement set by the university. 

Though TOEFL does not affect your admission result, it might affect your chances to get assistantships. Also, I am going to mention in this blog how even if you score low, you can get a chance to increase later on.

You should base your preparation on 3 points here! If you are,

  1. Looking for Assistantships
  2. Just making the minimum requirement
  3. University EL Test (Columbia, TAMU and UIUC)

 

  1. Looking for assistantships

If you are looking for an assistantship you should know that all the universities have a high cutoff, especially in speaking and listening. This is to ensure that the person who will be teaching understand the native speaker and talk to in an understandable accent. For this purpose, the average score which you will need would be 26+. Assistantships are not easy to get, but if you want one you will have to be proficient in the English Language. 

  1. Just making the minimum requirement

Since you guys are already prepping up for GRE, then you would also know that the universities have usually a requirement of 80. I literally went to 30 University website couple of night back for this purpose. I had to make sure that I am giving out correct information.

Most of the university had a cutoff of 79-80. Also, some of the universities will specifically mention on the websites, the individual cutoffs for Speaking, writing, listening, and reading. For example, here is the screenshot of XXXX University You can see that they have clearly mentioned this. I also checked for a university which had different cutoffs for different departments.

I know you might be thinking that why do we even take TOEFL if we have already taken the painful GRE. But TOEFL is different due to listening and speaking section. It is not difficult as GRE but it’s tricky. You have to be fast and attentive. 

Also if you want me to make another how to prepare for TOEFL post/video, just like this video. I will get a confirmation.

  1. EL Test to cover up

So you made a mistake and did not prepare for TOEFL as much as you should have. No problem some of the universities will cover up for you. 40/100 university (this number is my approximation and can vary) has this test which you have to take after going to the University which will make up for your low score in TOEFL and IELTS. So here is a screenshot from the University website clearly mentioning that if you score below this much marks then you will have to take the Local test at the University. It might not be difficult but yes they will make you take that if you are applying for assistantships.

Screen Shot 2017-06-25 at 2.57.48 AM

 

Do not worry if your TOEFL is low. TOEFL is not a thing which will affect your admission application. If you are making the minimum requirement you are good to go. But if you are looking for assistantships then you might have trouble. I have already made one video on TOEFL on scoring high.

 

 

Also, the excel sheet I have made is in the link below, you can download it. It has TOEFL /IELTS minimum requirement for 30 Universities. It will help you. Here is the link to that. https://goo.gl/1cmdpe

I hope it helps, I am spending a lot of time writing these blogs and making Youtube videos so that I can cover up a lot of topics which MS aspirants have problems in. You can subscribe to my youtube channel for more video updates.

You can follow me on Instagram @parthvijayvergiya and follow me on my journey from India to the US http://instagram.com/parthvijayvergiya/

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

